Volunteer Login

Who We Are

The Election Official Legal Defense Network (EOLDN) is a project of the nonpartisan, nonprofit Center for Election Innovation & Research. EOLDN connects elections officials in need of advice or assistance with licensed, qualified, pro bono attorneys and with communications professionals at no cost. This service is available regardless of the election official’s political affiliation, or whether they work in a blue or red state or county.

EOLDN is the brainchild of former Presidential Commission on Election Administration co-chairs Bob Bauer (former White House Counsel during the Obama Administration) and Ben Ginsberg (longtime Republican election lawyer who represented President George W. Bush’s campaign). Bauer and Ginsberg serve as EOLDN’s co-chairs, and, along with EOLDN’s advisory board of experts, attorneys, and election officials, help guide this effort, recruit volunteer lawyers, and educate election officials about the services available.

CEIR is led by Executive Director David Becker, a well-known expert in the elections community, with over two decades of experience protecting democracy. Before founding CEIR in 2016, Becker was Director of the Elections Initiatives portfolio at The Pew Charitable Trusts.  He also served seven years as a senior trial attorney in the Voting Section of the Civil Rights Division of the U.S. Department of Justice, under Presidents Bill Clinton and George W. Bush.



David Becker
David Becker
Executive Director, Center for Election Innovation & Research
Bob Bauer
Bob Bauer
Co-Chair, EOLDN
Ben Ginsberg
Ben Ginsberg
Co-Chair, EOLDN

Advisory Board

Natalie Adona
Natalie Adona
Clerk-Recorder/Registrar of Voters, Nevada County, CA
Chris Anderson
Supervisor of Elections, Seminole County, FL
Jocelyn Benson
Jocelyn Benson
Secretary of State, Michigan
Damon Circosta
Damon Circosta
Former Chair, North Carolina State Board of Elections
Brian Corley
Supervisor of Elections, Pasco County, FL
Matt Crane
Executive Director, Colorado County Clerks Association
Molly Fitzpatrick
Clerk, Boulder County, CO
Jordan Fuchs
Deputy Secretary of State, Georgia
Bill Gates
Maricopa County Board of Supervisors, Maricopa County, AZ
Joe Gloria
Former Registrar of Voters, Clark County Election Department, Clark County, NV
Tommy Gong
Deputy County Clerk-Recorder, Contra Costa County, CA
Trey Grayson
Partner, Frost Brown Todd; Former Secretary of State, Kentucky
Judge Thomas Griffith
Former Federal Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit
Ricky Hatch
Clerk/Auditor, Weber County, UT
Julietta Henry
Deputy Director, Board of Registration & Elections, DeKalb County, GA
Sarah Ball Johnson
Clerk, Colorado Springs, CO
Neal Kelley
Former Registrar of Voters, Orange County, CA
Joseph Kirk
Election Supervisor, Bartow County, GA
Brianna Lennon
Clerk, Boone County, MO
Dean Logan
Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk, Los Angeles County, CA
Lisa M. Marra
State Election Director for Arizona Secretary of State
Matt Masterson
Director of Information Integrity, Microsoft; formerly Election Lead, CISA
Michael Morley
Sheila M. McDevitt Professor of Law, Florida State University College of Law
Maggie Toulouse Oliver
Secretary of State, New Mexico
Chris Piper
Executive Director, Virginia Public Access Project
Brad Raffensperger
Secretary of State, Georgia
Stephen Richer
Recorder, Maricopa County, AZ
Justin Roebuck
County Clerk | Register of Deeds, Ottawa County, MI
Steve Simon
Secretary of State, Minnesota
Gabriel Sterling
COO/CFO, Georgia Secretary of State
Clifford D. Tatum
Consultant for ECLS
Wesley Wilcox
Supervisor of Elections, Marion County, FL
Wayne Williams
Former Secretary of State, Colorado
Michael Winn
Chief Deputy, Harris County Clerk, TX
Claire Woodall-Vogg
Executive Director of the City of Milwaukee Election Commission, Milwaukee, WI